Diocese of Colorado Springs (Overview and General Information)

Diocese of Colorado Springs                                                                            http://www.diocs.org/

Dioecesis Coloratensium Fontium

Pastoral Center

228 N. Cascade Avenue

Colorado Springs, CO  80903                                                                              (719) 636-2345



An Overview:


Created in November of 1983, the Diocese of Colorado Springs serves a territory that spans 10 central and eastern counties of Colorado.   The diocese serves more than 170,449 Catholics in 39 parishes and missions.   The diocese and its parishes provide religious education and formation to more than 9,259 students.   To keep up with the needs of the diocese's growing population, its social outreach continues to expand.   Last year, Catholic Charities of Colorado Springs assisted over 240,000 individuals and families.

Counties currently served by the Diocese of Colorado Springs:

     - Chaffee
     - Cheyenne
     - Douglas

     - El Paso
     - Elbert
     - Kit Carson
     - Lake
     - Lincoln
     - Park
     - Teller
Some Facts About the Diocese:

    Current Ordinary:                      Most Reverend Michael J. Sheridan
    Founding Ordinary:                   (Bishop Emeritus)  Most Reverend Richard C. Hanifen
    Metropolitan:                              Most Reverend Samuel J. Aquila 

                                                          (Archbishop)  (Archdiocese of Denver)

    Cathedral:                                   St. Mary's Cathedral

                                                          22 W. Kiowa Street, Colorado Springs, CO  80903

    Diocese's Patron Saint:             (Patroness of the Americas)  Our Lady of Guadalupe

Some Facts About the Diocese:

    Counties Served:  10
    Square Miles:  15,493
    Five Deaneries:   Northern, Metro North, Metro South, Eastern, Western
    Parishes:  39
    Estimated Catholic Population:  170,449
    Total Population:  1,065,309

    Religious Community Serving the Diocese:

        1 Bishop, 1 Bishop Emeritus
        73 Priests (including retired and active outside the diocese)
        59 Deacons (including retired)
        3 Brothers

        80 Sisters
        12 Seminarians